Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Branford Marsalis is an artist deeply aligned with the ACO spirit. He hails from a rich jazz heritage but is also an artist of today, renowned for his thrilling virtuosity and boundless musicality. His ACO debut is a vivid program inspired by Latin American jazz, directed by our Principal Violin Satu Vänskä.

Brazilian composer Heitor Villa-Lobos’s Fantasia for Saxophone and Orchestra is a Marsalis favourite. Written in New York, it is music with an alluring combination of driving beats and lyricism. Marsalis also plays Sally Beamish’s serene Under the Wing of the Rock, arranged especially for him by Beamish, in a bluesy translation for saxophone.

Marsalis’s performances alternate with Satu Vänskä taking centre stage in Astor Piazzolla’s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, a heady mixture of tango rhythms and ingenious references to Vivaldi’s famous concertos. The concert concludes with Ginastera’s wild and exhilarating Concerto for Strings.

Details are correct at time of publication

  • Stravinsky
    No.3 from Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet
    Fantasia for Saxophone and Orchestra
    The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
    Ária (Cantilena) from Bachianas Brasileiras No.5
    Sally Beamish
    Under the Wing of the Rock: Saxophone Concerto No.2 (Australian Premiere)
    Concerto for Strings
  • Saxophone
    Branford Marsalis
    Director and Violin
    Satu Vänsk